top of page

Vegan in Sri Lanka


In October 2016 I took a one week break to Sri Lanka. I had already heard about some of the excellent vegan food that can be found there via a very helpful guide from Vegan Food Quest, the usual listings on HappyCow and various other sources.

I was surprised to find out how much of the local food is already, naturally vegan. Of course I tried as much of it as I could. Here is a summary of what I found.

This Southern Indian Vegetarian restaurant is in the city of Colombo. I had read the listing on Vegan Food Quest and was excited to try it but the warning about the service was no joke. We had to wait a ridiculously long time for our food and even though we were one of the first tables to arrive, every other table was served before us. We also had to ask for things such as water or the bill several times before actually receiving them.

However, true to Vegan Food Quest’s promise, the food really was worth waiting for. I had a fantastic tasting curry, onion dosah and tried the fantastic Sri Lankan classic – string hoppers. All of this was also reasonably priced. It was a shame that I didn’t get a chance to go back as I would have, despite the appalling service.

This upscale restaurant near to Mount Lavinia of Colombo was one of my favourite places to visit in the city of Colombo. I tried lots of South Indian breads and things that I had never tried before and the portions were good and the food tasted great. I loved this place.

Probably my least favourite place, I went to this vegetarian place (also in Colombo) just to try somewhere different. The restaurant however was quite run down, the food was average and I felt very much like the odd one out as a lone white female tourist here. At least the service and the prices were both good.

Jina’s

I was very happy to find this vegan and vegetarian place in Unawantuna south of Galle and Colombo. I had already read about it and was told the service is very slow, but I didn’t have this problem. We were served very fast and so were the other diners. The food was very good but it did not have that authentic feel to it as many of the other dishes I had at less touristic places did. They also did western food and even vegan cakes which looked fantastic but I didn’t try any of this after my fill of local food.

Rice and Curry

Rice and curry in Hikkaduwa was not very different from a coconut curry from Thailand except that the portions were so huge. I had a different experience at a buffet near Sigoyri where almost all the dishes were vegan and featured some amazing things such as jackfruit curry.

Breakfast in Hikkaduwa

As recommended to me on Vegan Sri Lanka Facebook group, I stayed at Chami’s Place in Hikkaduwa and tried out their breakfast which has to be said was pretty good. A whole plate of fruit, roti, bread and jam.

I also tried out the restaurant at Sea View Hotel where I got an excellent fruit roti.

Other Foods

This weird snack which I can’t remember the name of was from the train ride and I was assured by my local friend it was vegan. It was sweet and delicious.

Another resort I stayed in made us these wonderful coconut rotis with some delicious dhal type dips.

I hope this helps you find your way as a vegan in Sri Lanka! I hope to get back there some day to try all the other places I didn't get to try on this trip!

Dee

x

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page